Your Position: Home > SmaPole S Series > Smatree SmaPole S1 All-aluminum Alloy Handheld Telescopic Pole for GoPro Hero 6/5/4/3+/3/2/1/Session

Smatree SmaPole S1 All-aluminum Alloy Handheld Telescopic Pole for GoPro Hero 6/5/4/3+/3/2/1/Session

Color:
 
Size:
15.8″ - 40.5″

Product Specification:

UPC: 605683306892

Choose your country:

Share this product

User Photos and Reviews

Average rating:

4.66(based on 1115 reviews)

Got something to say?
Recent Reviews
  • By DS Gamer

    September 4, 2015

    Great Mounting Pole for Go-Pros

    I'm a new user to the Go-Pro line of products and wanted to get a extending pole to use with it. I was concerned that a non Go-Pro brand wouldn't work properly or hold the camera firmed. I shouldn't have been concerned - the Smatree SmaPole S1 works perfectly. It was very easy to install onto my Go-Pro. The pole extends from 16" - 40" which is long enough for me needs. I liked that it came with a wrist lanyard for extra security. The grip is comfortable to hold and the screws to mount the Go-Pro on the pole are excellent quality. The camera is firmed seated in the pole and easy to use. Would highly recommended this Smatree product for your Go-Pro.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Charlie Wilkes

    September 4, 2015

    Awsome!!

    Same quality as the normal gopro straps great i jave used this on my trampoline it gets some great veiws

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Brandon

    September 4, 2016

    Must Buy.

    Great Go Pro selfie stick. Best I've ever purchased.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Leah

    September 5, 2014

    Great accessory for your GoPro!!!

    So when I purchased the Smatree SmaPole S1 I was hoping for a very sturdy piece that could stand up to my, as well as my kids, abuse...I was not disappointed! The package arrived very quick, and packed very well as expected (I own several Smatree products including a GoPro hard case and the double battery charger and Smatree batteries...also great!). The pole itself is VERY solid with very positive locking twist clamps when extended. When collapsed all the way down, it's perfect as a short grip. Don't bother buying an additional short grip, you won't need one if you purchase the S1. The grip is very comfortable and the included wrist strap is a nice safety feature. The construction of the S1 is very solid and I highly recommend this product. I am very happy with my choice!

    So I just got back from a 2 week trip to Maui that included tons of snorkeling, hiking, diving, and tons of play with the kids. My S1 was perfect! No, doesn't float, but so what! If you're not wearing the wrist strap while you're in the water... Anyway, it was my primary mount in maui. I hardly used anything else. Buy one!

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Amazon Customer

    September 6, 2014

    Aftermarket is the way to go

    Great quality product. The aftermarket price is just insane. I gave 4 starts related to the chesty's plastic j hook clip breaking within a few weeks of normal everyday use. Other then that this item runs head to head with the OEM version and I would have no hesitation buying this item again if need be.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Ronnie Kirchner

    September 6, 2014

    Aftermarket is the way to go

    Great quality product. The aftermarket price is just insane. I gave 4 starts related to the chesty's plastic j hook clip breaking within a few weeks of normal everyday use. Other then that this item runs head to head with the OEM version and I would have no hesitation buying this item again if need be.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By vicente

    September 6, 2016

    ... used it in the ocean and its hold up great! Just took it apart and rinsed it and ...

    Had this for a couple of months used it in the ocean and it's hold up great! Just took it apart and rinsed it and it's like new and smooth. The only thing is the the adjusters loosen and tighten the opposite way but you get use to it. This stick is solid doesn't flims around.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Amazon Customer

    September 7, 2014

    SmaPole S1 Is A Hit

    After a weekend of use, I'd have to say that the Smatree Smalpole S1 is on-par with the other great products that Smatree has for the gopro.

    Pros:
    * Aluminum mount
    * Soft/Foamy Grip
    * Very lightweight
    * Locking mechanism appears very durable
    * Packaging was 5-star. All parts were separated and neat

    Cons
    * Wish it collapsed to a smaller size. Making a version of the Smapole that was 10"-25", as an example, I think would give users options.

    The GoPro is mounted very easily. You have the choice of using a blue or black screw, which is awesome for Smatree to provide those choices in the first place. The aluminum mount something you don't see on other poles. Plastic mounts tend to break easily if you over tighten. The pole is very light-weight and even my 1 year old daughter can handle it with a gopro attached. The wrist strap is a good length and can fit around even bigger hands (like mine). There are complaints of some poles (not the smapole) where the end of the pole where the wrist strap is connected is popping off due to extreme usage or perhaps poor workmanship. I think only time will tell if that happens to this pole. The pole is waterproof and had no problems extending/collapsing after taking it under water a handful of times. The grip is soft and easy to handle. Again only time will tell, however, how the grip stays soft/durable after a long period of use. The pole locks lock and unlock the pole well. The only thing is if someone was to turn it more than the recommendation, you can damage the locking mechanism so that is one thing a user has be very careful about.

    Overall, this pole is worth the money compared to other poles in this price range (gopole, san marco, goscope, etc.). A couple I've actually purchased and returned. The big plus is Smatree already makes gopro accessories so they know everything there is to know about a gopro user. The Smapole S1 was made with a gopro user in mind. Some future versions I'd like to see perhaps a smaller extension option, an attached tri-pod mount, and different color variations with the wrist strap (at least black). Definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Amazon Customer

    September 7, 2015

    Inconsistent shipments?

    Product is inconsistent.

    I purchased what I thought to be this same product around November of 2014, and the batteries last about twice as long as these batteries that arrived during this shipment. The charging dock sometimes makes contact, but doesn't always if not fully seated properly on the bay furthest from the power inlet.

    The previous shipment had some issues with the charging dock bay LEDs too and charging behavior. Sometimes it would tell me the batteries were charged when they were not. The batteries not lasting nearly as long is frustrating because of the large difference of 2.1 - 1.2 hours recording time difference.

    I use these almost every day as I'm making a timelapse of my human interactions.

    will contact customer service now

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Alton

    September 7, 2015

    Inconsistent shipments?

    Product is inconsistent.

    I purchased what I thought to be this same product around November of 2014, and the batteries last about twice as long as these batteries that arrived during this shipment. The charging dock sometimes makes contact, but doesn't always if not fully seated properly on the bay furthest from the power inlet.

    The previous shipment had some issues with the charging dock bay LEDs too and charging behavior. Sometimes it would tell me the batteries were charged when they were not. The batteries not lasting nearly as long is frustrating because of the large difference of 2.1 - 1.2 hours recording time difference.

    I use these almost every day as I'm making a timelapse of my human interactions.

    will contact customer service now

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Abb0

    September 8, 2014

    Awesome Product

    I didn't have a monopole for my GoPro so when the chance to get one came up I jumped on it. I should have got one a long time ago!
    The Smartree SmaPole S1 is very well built. Its locking mechanism works very well and gives the impression of being solid. It comes with 2 thumb screws (1 std and 1 a good looking anodized blue) and a blue anodized spanner (which works with original GoPro thumb screws and their own thumb screw). I like the soft grip and the wrist strap which also has a good feel about it. Weight is about what I'd expect for something that also feels solid.
    I like it and would recommend it to anyone thinking of getting a monopole for their GoPro.
    5 Stars from me!

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Jeff S.

    September 8, 2014

    Smatree SmaPole S1

    I recently received a SmaPole S1 for "free" in order to test it out and write a review. I also own an SP Gadget Remote Pole, so I'll first review the SmaPole by itself and then compare to the SP Gadget pole. Since I am obviously reviewing a product I didn't pay full price for, I will try to remain as objective and possible and try to assume the role of someone paying for it, as I did with the Remote Pole.

    SmaPole S1:

    Out of the box, the unit feels really solid compared to some other GoPro and non-GoPro mounts and accessories. It arrives nicely packaged in a plain brown box, and includes an blue aluminum screw, a regular plastic screw, and a blue aluminum "wrenchboy." I love this wrench by the way. It really helps to screw down not only the Smatree screws but the regular GoPro ones as well. In addition, the narrative written for the "wrenchboy" is hilarious, as it was clearly not composed by an English native speaker but really attempted to make it energetic and fun.

    The pole itself is aluminum but feels relatively light compared to other poles I've used. As other people have mentioned, it really feels durable and seems to have excellent build quality. I've been really impressed with the build quality after abusing in for a weekend trip to Wisconsin for some boating, fishing, etc. The handle does come with an adjustable lanyard for security, but is otherwise unremarkable. It doesn't feel bad, but the foam material is pretty dense and not overly comfortable. However, it does the job and again seems pretty durable and resistant to tears.

    At the top, you have the standard mount for the housing, frame, etc. As with the rest of the pole, this is aluminum and actually does not require a nut, which is a nice thing to not have to worry about. It is stationary, so adjustments to the angle are only made by tilting the camera itself.

    The actual pole part is where the SmaPole S1 really sets itself apart and shines in my opinion. The aluminum is strong as expected, but I really love the locking system that Smatree uses. To extend the pole, you simply turn either lock counterclockwise. It doesn't take much of a turn at all to release the extensions. However, the locks themselves have a lined, rubber "boot" that is very comfortable and easy to loosen/tighten. When tightening, it doesn't take much to really clamp down. The pole is EXTREMELY sturdy when each of the locks are tightened, even more so than expected. I feel no wiggle or vibration when shaking it with a camera attached.

    Overall, the pole would be one that I would buy had I not already purchased a more expensive pole (which I couldn't easily return). It seems to have build quality at or above GoPro, it is extremely quick and functional in terms of setting up for various activities and shots, and just "feels" good. I should also throw in that my experience with the company's other products has been very positive.

    Compared to the SP Gadget Remote:

    Taking into consideration all of the above, how does the SmaPole compare to the Remote pole? Well, it obviously lacks a few features that make the Remote pole stand out. First and foremost, the holder for the remote on the SP Gadget pole is an amazing feature. I never really used my remote for my GP3+ until I got this pole, and now I just leave it attached. It is a great idea and one that I would expect to be around for awhile, even with the ability to use a phone, etc. However, it also means that the grip sits naturally in one position whereas you can spin the SmaPole any way needed.

    Secondly, the SP Gadget pole has a pivoting head where the camera attaches, which allows you to manipulate the pole/camera to achieve almost any angle. It is a nice touch, but one that I don't use as often as I originally thought I would. Plus, it is an extra thumbscrew to tighten and a potential breaking point on the pull. The SP Gadget pole sections are also aluminum, and the top connector is a heavy plastic. There appear to be plastic inserts as part of the locking mechanism.

    So, the SP has two distinct advantages in my mind. But there are also two areas that I think the SmaPole really shines. First, I genuinely prefer the locking mechanism on the Smatree so much more than the SP Gadget pole. Not only does the system seem sturdy and less prone to breaking, it is just easier and quicker than the SP pole. With the remote pole, I sometimes don't get it to lock right away or it takes a little to unlock it. At the same time, unless you really clamp down, there is a little more wiggle with this pole.

    Secondly, the Smatree is sleek, simple, and efficient, where the Remote feels bulky while in use. Yes, this is in part by the very nature of the design, but it was tough for me not to notice and pay attention to is when trying both poles out. The Smapole feels much more like a simple extension of my arm.

    With all of that in mind, had I not already purchased the SP Gadget pole, I would definitely have purchased the Smatree (it wasn't yet available on Amazon) based on my experience with the quality of the company's other products. Having used it, I can tell you that it is well worth the $40 that is is currently listed at. When you compare the extra features of the SP Gadget pole, it doesn't add up to the extra $30 that it is currently listed at.

    Unless you really think you need the remote feature, I would not hesitate to tell you to pick up this pole! Overall, I think it is the better value and is a go-to, all-purpose pole that will meet the vast majority of situations and needs.

    Sincerely,

    Jeff

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By MLars

    September 9, 2014

    Smapole S1 Review

    Overall I would absolutely recommend this to a friend and think it is completely worth the $40 it costs. The fit and finish is extraordinary. The safety lanyard is top quality. Even the mount at the top is fully aluminum and not plastic!! I think this product can easily compete with Gopoles because it extends to the same length but compresses even smaller and since it comes with the aluminum thumbscrew and wrench. Thank you Alex at Smatree for sending me one to test, and next time I do something exciting this will definitely be part of my arsenal!

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Mr. Forker

    September 9, 2016

    Sturdy pole with nice easy adjustments.Water use requires extra care.

    No provision for draining so if you use it underwater, you'll need to take it apart to allow complete drying. I tried hanging to dry in garage, but even after a few days there was still water inside, so it required disassembly to get all the water out.

    Otherwise it is very sturdy, quiet, easy to adjust and the aluminum end can really be cinched down. Nice that it includes an aluminum and regular plastic knob and the tightening wrench.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By Woody

    Sun Oct 19 13:53:05 UTC 2014

    Great sellfie assistant.

    I am extremely happy with this product. This eliminates the obvious appearance of a real selfie. It makes the camera far enough away to take that selfie without seeing your arm in the way or the evident folds of material showing it is a true selfie. The pole is very sturdy and the when engaged does not slip I can put it at any length and it screws in place and does not budge. but it easily adjusted for any situation.

    Included in the package are two screws for adjusting firmly. It would be nice to have it telescope down a little more to be able to carry it in a small bag but that does not deter the efficiency of the pole itself .

    I do love the feel it is smooth and it feels really solid in my hand. The foam handle makes it easy to be able to hold it without slipping and there is a strap so if the pole should slip it will save your camera from sliding to the floor possibly causing a disaster.

    Set up in very easy allowing you to be ready to take that winning photo in a minute.... Good item to have.

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)

  • By JWink

    Sun Oct 19 17:27:56 UTC 2014

    Solid quality Go Pro Handheld pole.. 4 and a half stars

    I recently received this Sma-pole for review. Included with the Sma-pole are a GoPro screw, a Sma-tree screw, and what Sma-tree calls their Wrenchboy tool for tightening the screws sturdily in place. (The little instruction manual include with this made me laugh a little with its introduction of the tool.)

    The Sma-pole almost resembles a collapsible baton (although a very light weight one) as it has two expandable (hand unlocking) sections that allow the hand pole to extend to just over 40 inches. Its minimum length is 16 inches which is ok, although it would have been nice if they could have made this so that it could have collapsed to an even smaller size (say 6 inches or less) for ease of storage and packing.

    The handle has nice comfortable foam padding that seems well made and durable and allows for an easy, comfortable grip. In addition to that, an adjustable wrist strap is included to help ensure that you wont be dropping this in the event you do loose your hold.

    The locking extension clamps are a notched rubber that makes it easy to unlock and extend and lock in place and even though the included warning says not to overscrew, I found it very easy to deal with and I did not have any issues with unlocking and locking the mechanism in place.

    The hand pole has a GoPro mount permanently affixed into the pole with the nut permanently mounted as well so that you dont have to worry about fooling around with putting that on and off without loosing it. Although I understand this is for a target audience of GoPro camera owners, it would have been nice to have included attachable mounts that would have allowed for different cameras and uses. It is a minor issue really for me but I have a variety of cameras aside from the GoPro and I would have liked to been able to attach and use on this.

    I have never been one that has got into the whole selfie taking phenomenon so when I received this Sma-pole for review, so I wasn't exactly sure how useful this device would be to me. But after playing around with this, I can say that this is a fun useful tool not just for selfies but for other uses as well. Just a day after receiving it, I went to a concert and found this very helpful, considering I am average height, to extend and film over the heads of the audience in front of me without really getting in the way of the people behind me. In fact, I found myself wishing I had this when I went on a trip to the Grand Canyon as I would have been able to take some awesome shots with this. So after initially being a doubter, I found this as something that has some cool uses.

    Overall, I went from an initial doubter to a believer that this is a cool fun tool for the GoPro. Although there are some similar type products out there at varying prices, the Sma-tree brand is priced very well for its level of quality. Although I have a couple minor issues that I outlined above, overall this is a solid quality hand pole from top to bottom and comes with a lifetime guarantee. What else could you ask for in a product.

    4 and a half stars

    Was this review helpful?

    (0) | (0)